Ken Watanabe Is Battling Stomach Cancer

It’s disheartening to see anyone we know and love suffer from an ailing disease. The same especially goes to actor Ken Watanabe who was initially supposed to go back to New York City to reprise his role in Rodgers & Hammerstein’s The King & I.

Instead, the actor reportedly underwent stomach surgery to remove a cancerous tumor, according to several reports. As per MSN.com‘s latest coverage:

Craig Bankey, Watanabe’s press agent, said Tuesday the actor has undergone endoscopic surgery and is recuperating at a hospital in Japan. In a statement, the actor said: “I would like to ask for your understanding that the start of my performance in New York will be a little delayed.”

I love Watanabe as an actor having seen him in The Last Samurai and Godzilla among others, and have often aspired for him to be in films I’ve yet to see movement on; Personally I wouldn’t mind him playing the role of Heihachi Mishima in a live-action Tekken film. But that’s just me, and I’m sure stomach surgery would ultimately be the kind of thing to keep a person abstaining from anything too physical.

At any rate, Broadway is his next stop after this, and I really hope he gets well soon.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

